Wedding Belles


Last weekend, Neal’s sister got married.  When she first approached us about the twins being the flower girl and ring bearer in her wedding, I made very sure she knew what she was asking for (and more specifically what she was in for).  But she was adamant, and we accepted the honor.

 

We knew it would be a hectic weekend, and with my milk and egg allergy, I assumed (and rightly so) there would be scarce a morsel for me to eat in the wilderness called Fabius.

 

So we began our journey of celebration with more than a small amount of trepidation.

 

My first clue about the food at the rehearsal dinner was when Preston took one bite of his meal and promptly projectile vomited all over the table.  After cleaning him up, I managed to get a couple bites of meat-ish stuff from the buffet table and then promptly ate my weight in Halloween candy to round out my meal.

 

Wedding day:  In addition to getting the kids and ourselves dressed and ready, it was also my job to cinch, pull and tug the bride into her dress, which was, I might add, what Neal and I picked out for her, and it was stunning!

 The Flower Girl

 

 

 

Off to the ceremony.  We’ve been joking for months about the twins potential behavior during a FULL CATHOLIC MASS(ochistic) wedding ceremony.  And they didn’t let us down. I have yet to understand why you would have a 1:00 p.m. wedding and have the reception start at 6:00 PM!  Granted, the full mass felt as though it were 4 hours long, but had in fact concluded in just about an hour.

The Ring Bearer

 

Laughing, waving, chatting, hooting and yelling, we made our way down the aisle to the alter.  They considered the priest to be competition, talking and yelling louder.  The priest was so distracted, he had a difficult time getting his thoughts out and at one point just started laughing along with the rest of the assembled crowd.  What can I say?  The bride knew what she was in for.

 

Finally falling asleep near the end of the ceremony (and I’m speaking of the twins, although I wasn’t far behind them), we finally had a brief reprieve.

Daddy, Papa and the Twins

 

And no, I suppose Preston can hardly be classified as a belle, but between he and Ava, they did steal the show. With only a 15 minute nap the entire day, they were social butterflies, making many new friends and dancing the night away until almost 9:30 when we left for our trek back home, everyone agreeing it felt much later than nearly midnight when we pulled into the driveway.

 

And by the way, at the reception I was actually able to piece together a decent fare to keep me from starving to death before we reached civilization once again.

A fun-filled, crazy weekend, and a good time was had by all.

7 responses to “Wedding Belles

  1. that is so cool. When we got married, we included our boys in the wedding. I hope you dont mind, but i added your blog on my ‘read list’ as i like to read about other gay parents and see how we are all hanging on.
    John

  2. Hello,
    You guys have a beautiful family! My husband and I (both Caucasian) have an African-American son (21 months). It’s cool to see others who adopt.
    My son is allergic to soy, peanuts, eggs, wheat and dairy. I started a website http://www.spewdfree.com to help other people who have food allergies. I thought you might be interested because of your food allergies.
    Thanks,
    Heather

  3. hey guys, your not gonna believe this, i changed the name of my blog, and apparently all my contacts disappeared….i learn something new everytime i go on this computer..lol

  4. Your twins are so cute! I love their outfits in these pics! 🙂

  5. hey guys! ran across your blog via The Good the Bad and the Ugly…great blog! love the story about the wedding. also love all of the pictures in the album…some of them made me laugh out loud, some made me smile and some made me say awww…

    you’ve got a great family and just sending our support from tampa. adding you to the blogroll because it’s just too interesting.

    take care and hope the 4 of you have a great weekend!

  6. What an amazing family photo. Congrats to you all! Looking forward to following your blog!

Leave a comment