It’s Twins!


No one has ever accused me of being a man of few words, including my partner, Neal.  We’ve recently discussed this.  And when he reads this, I’m sure we’ll talk about it again.

So this first post is mostly about how my partner and I started our family with children. If you’re still interested, but don’t want to read the novel-length version here, you can click on the About Me link at the top of this page to get the quick and dirty version.

And in case there was any confusion, for you twinks out there looking for a Gay Daddy, I’m probably not the Daddy you were looking for.  You might need to go back and adjust your search criteria.  Oops!

So anyway…Hi!  I’m Bryan.  I’m 35.  I’m as married as it gets for a gay man in our good, old, progressive United States of America in 2008.  Oh, wait.  But that’s a rant for another day.

A year after our wedding, we started the adoption process.  In less than six months we received The Call.  Two very hectic weeks of phone calls, death match shopping marathons and some amazing planning later, we were the proud fathers of infant twins.  As we held our tiny baby daughter and son for the first time, we were overwhelmed with joy and began to come to terms with all the changes and emotions that sudden parenthood brings.  We call it our two week pregnancy.

A recent photo of Papa, Daddy and the Twins around Christmas 2007. I'm the one in the family without dark, curly hair.

While we’d carefully planned what we needed to do for one child, twins put an interesting twist on everything  we imagined, right down to day care and careers.  Our day care provider only had one spot open.  We envisioned the nightmare of getting everyone up and out of the house in the morning, and the rush to get home at night.  We talked about how little time we’d have to spend with the children in our current situation, not to mention the cost of placing two infants in day care full time, once we found a new provider.

So I made the decision to leave my corporate job to stay home full time with our children.  As luck would have it, I was able to take advantage of an opportunity to work from home around the kids’ schedules, managing the day-to-day operations of a web business owned by a family member.  So when I’m not busy with playtime, changing diapers, giving (or taking) baths, running to doctor appointments, doing laundry, dishes, vacuuming, dusting, yard work and searching for that illusive thing I used to call sleep, now taken in the form of micronaps, I’m working from my home office, and now, periodically, writing in my blog.

More than anything else, this blog is for me.  I wanted a venue for brain dumping, venting and to keep track of what the kids are up to.  A penned journal really isn’t my thing, and I find that a basic saved document doesn’t keep my interest.  So I’m going to try my hand at this and see where it goes.  So, if my ramblings seem like I’m talking to myself, that may be exactly what I’m doing. That being said, I’m glad you’re here and are taking the time and interest to share what’s going on in my head.  If you’d like to post comments, I’d love to hear from you.

B~

6 responses to “It’s Twins!

  1. welcome to the blogosphere! I was thrilled to read about a couple of gay dads. Best of luck to you both, and such lovely kids too! My partner and I are gay dads, but we did it the old-fashioned way: we tried to go “straight” got married to women and had kids before we found each other. Life is much better now that we’ve found each other.

  2. Sara (from STAR)

    Hey Bryan! Was searching the blogosphere and look who I found! The kids are getting so big! And Neal’s hair has gotten so long (love it!)! Such a small world and nice surprise! Love your writing… very witty and great humor!

  3. Neat! Adoption is just oh so very cool in every aspect, and reading this brings me much happiness!
    I wish you four all the luck in the world, I hope you guys (and boys) are very happy together!

    Thanks! The kids are a blast! And the time is flying by. The twins are a boy and a girl. Gotta give her some credit. She’s outnumbered around here! 🙂 But don’t feel too bad for her. She’s already established herself as head of the household. I can only imagine the adventures we’re going to have in the years to come.

  4. Doh! I completely fudged that one .. Read it wrong, thought it was 2 boys. I sorry 🙂

  5. This is a great undertaking. I recently began a blog doumenting my legal gay marriage in Massachusetts. I’ll be sure to keep up with yours as we too contemplate adoption.
    Jos76
    http://www.jos76.wordpress.com

  6. THANK YOU Brian for sharing your life and family! You guys have BEAUTIFUL children! I happened across the blog looking of pix of twin boy and girl sets for work. Thank God I did. It’s AMAZING that in this world two PEOPLE find each other, fall in LOVE and OPEN their HEARTS even more for children of a different race. Your family is a wonderful example love, plain and simple in the best complicated way! Looking forward to reading more!!

Leave a Reply

